What Employees are Exempt From Overtime in Massachusetts?
Understanding Overtime Exemptions
Anyone who is not exempt from overtime laws must be paid time and a half for all hours worked over 40 hours in any single week.
Understanding who is exempt vs. non-exempt can be challenging. The basic rule is that to be exempt from overtime laws, you have to be: (i) paid on a salary basis, meaning your pay does not change based on the hours you work; (ii) earning a minimum of $684 per week, or $35,568 annually; and (iii) performing primary duties that are considered exempt under state and federal overtime laws.
Some things you need to know:
Learn more here about overtime law in Massachusetts.
Need Help With a Question About Overtime Exemption?