How Much Time Do I Have to Bring a Discrimination Claim?
Understanding the Statute of Limitations for a Discrimination Claim
Your discrimination claim must first be filed with either the Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination ("MCAD") or the federal Equal Employment Opportunity Commission ("EEOC").
If you bring the claim in Massachusetts, whether at the MCAD or EEOC, you have 300 days from the discriminatory act to file. This is approximately ten months. You may see reference to 180 days, or six months. That is the federal statute of limitations, but the EEOC will apply the state statute if it is longer. This is why even at the EEOC it is 300 days in Massachusetts.
You should pay careful attention to this time period- with very limited exceptions it is strictly enforced, and you could lose your right to bring your claims if you do not act within 300 days.
Learn more here about bringing a discrimination complaint.
Need Help With a Discrimination Claim?