How Much Sick Time Does an Employer Have to Provide?
Under the Massachusetts Earned Sick Time Law, all employees, part time or full time, are required to accrue sick time. They can either be given a "bank" of five days (40 hours) each year, or they can accrue the time at a rate of one hour for every thirty hours worked.
If you have your employees accrue sick time throughout the year (as opposed to simply giving them five days each year), then you have to allow them to rollover unused sick time into the new year, up to a maximum of 40 hours.
For a full time employee, the method you choose will make no difference by the end of the year, other than ensuring they do not burn through all of the days early in the year. Using the accrual method, a full time employee will reach the 40 hours in 30 weeks, or a little over half the year.
If you have part time employees, however, the accrual may make more sense for your business, as the full five days may be disproportionate to the amount of time they spend working in your business, and more than they otherwise would accrue.
Learn more here about the Massachusetts earned sick time law.
Need Help With a Paid Sick Time Question?