How Much Notice Do Employees Have to Provide Before Taking Leave Under the Massachusetts Paid Family Medical Leave Act?
Employees who intend to take family medical leave under the PFMLA should give their employer 30 days notice, along with information about an anticipated return date.
However, if the employer has failed to provide the notices to employees required by the PFMLA, the employee's obligation relating to notice is considered waived.
In addition, the law recognizes that it is not always possible to know 30 days ahead that a leave will be needed. In that case, the expectation is that the employee give as much notice as reasonably possible.
Learn more here about the Massachusetts Paid Family Leave Law.
Need Help With Family Medical Leave Question?