Massachusetts Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees
The Tipped Minimum Wage in Massachusetts
Service workers who earn tips can legally paid at a lower hourly rate than the standard minimum wage, called the tipped minimum wage.
If you earn $20 or more in tips per week, your employer can pay you at this lower rate. Be aware, though, that the employer is responsible for making sure your hourly wage and tips combined meet the current state minimum wage of $15.00 per hour each week.
You may be required to share or "pool" tips with other service workers, but these cannot be shared with anyone with management responsibilities in the establishment.
Learn more here about the tipped minimum wage in Massachusetts.
Need Help With a Wage and Hour Issue?
Wondering if You Have a Wage Act Claim?
Our Solutions Roadmap is a quick and easy way to share the details of what you are facing and receive preliminary feedback from a member of our team. It is 100% confidential and 100% free.